Watershed Science and Management Faculty

Water Resources Science graduate faculty members who have experience and expertise in the Watershed Science and Management area of emphasis are listed below. Students do not necessarily need to know their exact area of emphasis before entering the degree program; however, they should have a firm idea of their research interests. Please select a faculty member’s name to view their specific research interests, courses taught, and other personal information. 

Name Campus Home Department/Organization Email
Lawrence Baker Twin Cities Department of Bioproducts and Biosystems Engineering baker127@umn.edu
Marvin Bauer Twin Cities Department of Forest Resources mbauer@umn.edu
Jay Bell Twin Cities Department of Soil, Water, and Climate jaybell@umn.edu
Mae Davenport Twin Cities Department of Forest Resources mdaven@umn.edu
Salli Dymond Duluth Department of Earth and Environmental Sciences sdymond@d.umn.edu
Karlyn Eckman Twin Cities Department of Forest Resources eckma001@umn.edu
Daniel Engstrom Twin Cities St. Croix Watershed Research Station & Science Museum of Minnesota dre@smm.org
Susan Galatowitsch Twin Cities Department of Fisheries, Wildlife and Conservation Biology & Minnesota Aquatic Invasive Species Center galat001@umn.edu
Ralph Garono Duluth Large Lakes Observatory & Natural Resources Research Institute rjgarono@d.umn.edu
Karen Gran Duluth Department of Earth and Environmental Sciences kgran@d.umn.edu
Satish Gupta Twin Cities Department of Soil, Water, and Climate gupta002@umn.edu
Lorin Hatch Twin Cities HDR Engineering, Inc. lorin.hatch@hdrinc.com
Brian Hill Duluth Department of Biology & US Environmental Protection Agency hill.brian@epa.gov
Carrie Jennings Twin Cities Department of Earth Sciences carrie@umn.edu, cjennings@freshwater.org
Lucinda Johnson Duluth Natural Resources Research Institute ljohnson@nrri.umn.edu
Diana Karwan Twin Cities Department of Forest Resources dlkarwan@umn.edu
Joe Knight Twin Cities Department of Forest Resources & Department of Soil, Water, and Climate jknight@umn.edu
Chris Lenhart Twin Cities Department of Bioproducts and Biosystems Engineering lenh0010@umn.edu
Joe Magner Twin Cities Department of Bioproducts and Biosystems Engineering magne027@umn.edu
David Mulla Twin Cities Department of Soil, Water, And Climate mulla003@umn.edu
John Nieber Twin Cities Department of Bioproducts and Biosystems Engineering nieber@umn.edu
Paige Novak Twin Cities Department of Civil, Environmental, and Geo-Engineering novak010@umn.edu
John Pastor Duluth Department of Biology jpastor@nrri.umn.edu
Jim Perry Twin Cities Department of Fisheries, Wildlife and Conservation Biology jperry@umn.edu
Jeffrey Peterson Twin Cities Water Resources Center & Department of Applied Economics jmpeter@umn.edu
Anthony Runkel Twin Cities Minnesota Geological Survey & Department of Earth Sciences runke001@umn.edu
Martin Saar Twin Cities Department of Earth Sciences saar@umn.edu
Gary Sands Twin Cities Department of Bioproducts and Biosystems Engineering grsand@umn.edu
Ingrid Schneider Twin Cities Department of Forest Resources & UMN Tourism Center ingridss@umn.edu
Jeffrey Strock Twin Cities Department of Soil, Water, and Climate & Outreach Center stroc001@umn.edu
Robert Tipping Twin Cities Minnesota Geological Survey tippi001@umn.edu
Vaughan Voller Twin Cities Department of Civil, Environmental, and Geo-Engineering volle001@umn.edu
Andrew Wickert Twin Cities Department of Earth Sciences awickert@umn.edu
Bruce Wilson Twin Cities Department of Bioproducts and Biosystems Engineering wilson@umn.edu
Kyungsoo Yoo Twin Cities Department of Soil, Water, and Climate kyoo@umn.edu