Limnology Faculty

Water Resources Science graduate faculty members who have experience and expertise in the Limnology area of emphasis are listed below. Students do not necessarily need to know their exact area of emphasis before entering the degree program; however, they should have a firm idea of their research interests. Please select a faculty member’s name to view their specific research interests, courses taught, and other personal information. 

Name Campus Home Department/Organization Email
Jay Austin Duluth Large Lakes Observatory jaustin@d.umn.edu
Richard Axler Duluth Natural Resources Research Institute raxler@umn.edu
Lawrence Baker Twin Cities Department of Bioproducts and Biosystems Engineering baker127@umn.edu
Randal Barnes Twin Cities Department of Civil, Environmental, and Geo-Engineering barne003@umn.edu
Donn Branstrator Duluth Department of Biology dbranstr@d.umn.edu
Erik Brown Duluth Department of Earth and Environmental Sciences & Large Lakes Observatory etbrown@d.umn.edu
James Cotner Twin Cities Department of Ecology, Evolution and Behavior cotne002@umn.edu
Mark Edlund Twin Cities St. Croix Watershed Research Station & Science Museum of Minnesota medlund@smm.org
Daniel Engstrom Twin Cities St. Croix Watershed Research Station & Science Museum of Minnesota dre@smm.org
Jacques Finlay Twin Cities Department of Ecology, Evolution and Behavior jfinlay@umn.edu
Christina Gallup Duluth Department of Earth and Environmental Sciences & Large Lakes Observatory cgallup@d.umn.edu
Ralph Garono Duluth Large Lakes Observatory & Natural Resources Research Institute rjgarono@d.umn.edu
Glenn Guntenspergen Duluth Natural Resources Research Institute, & Patuxent Wildlife Research Center gguntens@d.umn.edu
Lorin Hatch Twin Cities HDR Engineering, Inc. lorin.hatch@hdrinc.com
Robert Hecky Duluth Large Lakes Observatory rhecky@d.umn.edu
Randall Hicks Duluth Department of Biology & Co-Director for the Water Resources Science program rhicks@d.umn.edu
Sarah Hobbie Twin Cities Department of Ecology, Evolution and Behavior shobbie@umn.edu
Miki Hondzo Twin Cities Department of Civil, Environmental, and Geo-Engineering & St. Anthony Falls Laboratory mhondzo@umn.edu
George Host Duluth Natural Resources Research Institute ghost@d.umn.edu
Thomas Hrabik Duluth Department of Biology thrabik@umn.edu
Emi Ito Twin Cities Department of Earth Sciences & Limnological Research Center eito@umn.edu
Thomas Johnson Duluth Department of Geological Sciences & Large Lakes Observatory tcj@d.umn.edu
Sergei Katsev Duluth Department of Physics & Large Lakes Observatory skatsev@d.umn.edu
Sam Kelly Duluth Department of Physics & Large Lakes Observatory smkelly@d.umn.edu
Katsumi Matsumoto Twin Cities Department of Earth Sciences katsumi@umn.edu
Elizabeth Minor Duluth Large Lakes Observatory eminor@d.umn.edu
Bruce Monson Twin Cities Department of Soil, Water, and Climate and MN Pollution Control Agency Bruce.Monson@state.mn.us
Raymond Newman Twin Cities Department of Fisheries, Wildlife and Conservation Biology rnewman@umn.edu
Ted Ozersky Duluth Department of Biology & Large Lakes Observatory tozersky@d.umn.edu
Euan Reavie Duluth Center for Water and the Environment & Natural Resources Research Institute ereavie@d.umn.edu
Kathryn Schreiner Duluth Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry & Large Lakes Observatory kschrein@d.umn.edu
Byron Steinman Duluth Department of Earth and Environmental Sciences & Large Lakes Observatory bsteinma@d.umn.edu
Robert Sterner Duluth Large Lakes Observatory stern007@d.umn.edu
Edward Swain Twin Cities Department of Fisheries, Wildlife and Conservation Biology & Minnesota Pollution Control Agency swain006@umn.edu
John Swenson Duluth Department of Earth and Environmental Sciences jswenso2@d.umn.edu
Brandy Toner Twin Cities Department of Soil, Water, and Climate toner@umn.edu