Hydrology Faculty

Water Resources Science graduate faculty members who have experience and expertise in the Hydrologic Science area of emphasis are listed below. Students do not necessarily need to know their exact area of emphasis before entering the degree program; however, they should have a firm idea of their research interests. Please select a faculty member’s name to view their specific research interests, courses taught, and other personal information. 

Name Campus Home Department/Organization Email
James Almendinger Twin Cities St. Croix Watershed Research Station dinger@smm.org
Randal Barnes Twin Cities Department of Civil, Environmental, and Geo-Engineering barne003@umn.edu
Jay Bell Twin Cities Department of Soil, Water, and Climate jaybell@umn.edu
Salli Dymond Duluth Department of Earth and Environmental Sciences sdymond@d.umn.edu
Melinda Erickson Twin Cities Department of Bioproducts and Biosystems Engineering & U.S. Geological Survey eric0984@umn.edu
Christina Gallup Duluth Department of Earth and Environmental Sciences & Large Lakes Observatory cgallup@d.umn.edu
Karen Gran Duluth Department of Earth and Environmental Sciences kgran@d.umn.edu
Timothy Griffis Twin Cities Department of Soil, Water, and Climate tgriffis@umn.edu
John Gulliver Twin Cities Department of Civil, Environmental, and Geo-Engineering gulli003@umn.edu
Satish Gupta Twin Cities Department of Soil, Water, and Climate gupta002@umn.edu
Emi Ito Twin Cities Department of Earth Sciences & Limnological Research Center eito@umn.edu
Thomas Johnson Duluth Department of Geological Sciences & Large Lakes Observatory tcj@d.umn.edu
Diana Karwan Twin Cities Department of Forest Resources dlkarwan@umn.edu
Chris Lenhart Twin Cities Department of Bioproducts and Biosystems Engineering lenh0010@umn.edu
Joe Magner Twin Cities Department of Bioproducts and Biosystems Engineering magne027@umn.edu
Katsumi Matsumoto Twin Cities Department of Earth Sciences katsumi@umn.edu
Howard Mooers Duluth Department of Earth and Environmental Sciences hmooers@d.umn.edu
Gene-Hua Crystal Ng Twin Cities Department of Earth Sciences gcng@umn.edu
John Nieber Twin Cities Department of Bioproducts and Biosystems Engineering nieber@umn.edu
Chris Paola Twin Cities Department of Earth Sciences & National Center for Earth-surface Dynamics cpaola@umn.edu
Anthony Runkel Twin Cities Minnesota Geological Survey & Department of Earth Sciences runke001@umn.edu
Martin Saar Twin Cities Department of Earth Sciences saar@umn.edu
Gary Sands Twin Cities Department of Bioproducts and Biosystems Engineering grsand@umn.edu
Mark Seeley Twin Cities Department of Soil, Water, and Climate seele002@umn.edu
Byron Steinman Duluth Department of Earth and Environmental Sciences & Large Lakes Observatory bsteinma@d.umn.edu
Steven Sternberg Duluth Department of Chemical Engineering ssternbe@d.umn.edu
Jeffrey Strock Twin Cities Department of Soil, Water, and Climate & Outreach Center stroc001@umn.edu
John Swenson Duluth Department of Earth and Environmental Sciences jswenso2@d.umn.edu
Rebecca Teasley Duluth Department of Civil Engineering rteasley@d.umn.edu
Robert Tipping Twin Cities Minnesota Geological Survey tippi001@umn.edu
Vaughan Voller Twin Cities Department of Civil, Environmental, and Geo-Engineering volle001@umn.edu
Andrew Wickert Twin Cities Department of Earth Sciences awickert@umn.edu
Bruce Wilson Twin Cities Department of Bioproducts and Biosystems Engineering wilson@umn.edu