Water Quality Faculty

Water Resources Science graduate faculty members who have experience and expertise in the Water Quality area of emphasis are listed below. Students do not necessarily need to know their exact area of emphasis before entering the degree program; however, they should have a firm idea of their research interests. Please select a faculty member’s name to view their specific research interests, courses taught, and other personal information. 

Name Campus Home Department/Organization Email
Bill Arnold Twin Cities Department of Civil, Environmental, and Geo-Engineering arnol032@umn.edu
Richard Axler Duluth Natural Resources Research Institute raxler@umn.edu
John Baker Twin Cities Department of Soil, Water, and Climate jbaker@umn.edu
Lawrence Baker Twin Cities Department of Bioproducts and Biosystems Engineering baker127@umn.edu
Sebastian Behrens Twin Cities Department of Civil, Environmental, and Geo-Engineering sbehrens@umn.edu
Paul Capel Twin Cities Department of Civil, Environmental, and Geo-Engineering capel001@umn.edu
Chuck Clanton Twin Cities Department of Bioproducts and Biosystems Engineering cjclanton@umn.edu
James Cotner Twin Cities Department of Ecology, Evolution and Behavior cotne002@umn.edu
Mark Edlund Twin Cities St. Croix Watershed Research Station & Science Museum of Minnesota medlund@smm.org
Daniel Engstrom Twin Cities St. Croix Watershed Research Station & Science Museum of Minnesota dre@smm.org
Melinda Erickson Twin Cities Department of Bioproducts and Biosystems Engineering & U.S. Geological Survey eric0984@umn.edu
Susan Galatowitsch Twin Cities Department of Fisheries, Wildlife and Conservation Biology & Minnesota Aquatic Invasive Species Center galat001@umn.edu
Satish Gupta Twin Cities Department of Soil, Water, and Climate gupta002@umn.edu
Lorin Hatch Twin Cities HDR Engineering, Inc. lorin.hatch@hdrinc.com
Randall Hicks Duluth Department of Biology & Co-Director for the Water Resources Science program rhicks@d.umn.edu
Sarah Hobbie Twin Cities Department of Ecology, Evolution and Behavior shobbie@umn.edu
Miki Hondzo Twin Cities Department of Civil, Environmental, and Geo-Engineering & St. Anthony Falls Laboratory mhondzo@umn.edu
Satoshi Ishii Twin Cities Department of Soil, Water, and Climate; BioTechnology Institute ishi0040@umn.edu
Lucinda Johnson Duluth Natural Resources Research Institute ljohnson@nrri.umn.edu
Nathan Johnson Duluth Department of Civil Engineering nwjohnso@d.umn.edu
Sergei Katsev Duluth Department of Physics & Large Lakes Observatory skatsev@d.umn.edu
Timothy LaPara Twin Cities Department of Civil, Environmental, and Geo-Engineering lapar001@umn.edu
Joe Magner Twin Cities Department of Bioproducts and Biosystems Engineering magne027@umn.edu
Mary Meyer Twin Cities Department of Horticultural Science meyer023@umn.edu
David Mount Duluth U.S. Environmental Protection Agency & Department of Biology mount.dave@epa.gov
David Mulla Twin Cities Department of Soil, Water, And Climate mulla003@umn.edu
Ed Nater Twin Cities Department of Soil, Water, And Climate enater@umn.edu
Raymond Newman Twin Cities Department of Fisheries, Wildlife and Conservation Biology rnewman@umn.edu
Gene-Hua Crystal Ng Twin Cities Department of Earth Sciences gcng@umn.edu
Paige Novak Twin Cities Department of Civil, Environmental, and Geo-Engineering novak010@umn.edu
Jim Perry Twin Cities Department of Fisheries, Wildlife and Conservation Biology jperry@umn.edu
Pamela Rice Twin Cities Department of Soil, Water, And Climate & USDA/ARS Soil and Water Management Unit pamrice@umn.edu
Carl Rosen Twin Cities Department of Soil, Water, and Climate crosen@umn.edu
Anthony Runkel Twin Cities Minnesota Geological Survey & Department of Earth Sciences runke001@umn.edu
Martin Saar Twin Cities Department of Earth Sciences saar@umn.edu
Gary Sands Twin Cities Department of Bioproducts and Biosystems Engineering grsand@umn.edu
Matt Simcik Twin Cities Department of Environmental Health Sciences msimcik@umn.edu
Kurt Spokas Twin Cities Department of Soil, Water, And Climate & USDA/ARS Soil and Water Management Unit kurt.spokas@ars.usda.gov
Jeffrey Strock Twin Cities Department of Soil, Water, and Climate & Outreach Center stroc001@umn.edu
Edward Swain Twin Cities Department of Fisheries, Wildlife and Conservation Biology & Minnesota Pollution Control Agency swain006@umn.edu
Brandy Toner Twin Cities Department of Soil, Water, and Climate toner@umn.edu
Rod Venterea Twin Cities USDA-ARS & Department of Soil, Water, And Climate venterea@umn.edu
Bruce Wilson Twin Cities Department of Bioproducts and Biosystems Engineering wilson@umn.edu
Kyungsoo Yoo Twin Cities Department of Soil, Water, and Climate kyoo@umn.edu