Alphabetical Faculty List

Below is a list of all Water Resources Science graduate faculty on the Twin Cities and Duluth campuses. Please select a faculty member's name to view their research interests and other personal information.

If you wish to view faculty members with expertise in one of the program's eight areas of emphasis, select the drop-down options to see a list of faculty in each area. The WRS program offers M.S. and Ph.D. degrees in each of the eight areas of emphasis.

Name Campus Home Department/Organization Email
James Almendinger Twin Cities St. Croix Watershed Research Station dinger@smm.org
Bill Arnold Twin Cities Department of Civil, Environmental, and Geo-Engineering arnol032@umn.edu
Jay Austin Duluth Large Lakes Observatory jaustin@d.umn.edu
Richard Axler Duluth Natural Resources Research Institute raxler@umn.edu
John Baker Twin Cities Department of Soil, Water, and Climate jbaker@umn.edu
Lawrence Baker Twin Cities Department of Bioproducts and Biosystems Engineering baker127@umn.edu
Randal Barnes Twin Cities Department of Civil, Environmental, and Geo-Engineering barne003@umn.edu
Marvin Bauer Twin Cities Department of Forest Resources mbauer@umn.edu
Sebastian Behrens Twin Cities Department of Civil, Environmental, and Geo-Engineering sbehrens@umn.edu
Jay Bell Twin Cities Department of Soil, Water, and Climate jaybell@umn.edu
Valerie Brady Duluth Natural Resources Research Institute & Minnesota Sea Grant vbrady@umn.edu
Andrew Bramburger Duluth Natural Resources Research Institute abrambur@d.umn.edu
Donn Branstrator Duluth Department of Biology dbranstr@d.umn.edu
Erik Brown Duluth Department of Earth and Environmental Sciences & Large Lakes Observatory etbrown@d.umn.edu
Paul Capel Twin Cities Department of Civil, Environmental, and Geo-Engineering capel001@umn.edu
Chanlan Chun Duluth Natural Resources Research Institute chun0157@d.umn.edu
Chuck Clanton Twin Cities Department of Bioproducts and Biosystems Engineering cjclanton@umn.edu
James Cotner Twin Cities Department of Ecology, Evolution and Behavior cotne002@umn.edu
Mae Davenport Twin Cities Department of Forest Resources mdaven@umn.edu
Karlyn Eckman Twin Cities Department of Forest Resources eckma001@umn.edu
Mark Edlund Twin Cities St. Croix Watershed Research Station & Science Museum of Minnesota medlund@smm.org
Daniel Engstrom Twin Cities St. Croix Watershed Research Station & Science Museum of Minnesota dre@smm.org
Melinda Erickson Twin Cities Department of Bioproducts and Biosystems Engineering & U.S. Geological Survey eric0984@umn.edu
Leonard Ferrington Twin Cities Department of Entomology ferri016@umn.edu
Jacques Finlay Twin Cities Department of Ecology, Evolution and Behavior jfinlay@umn.edu
Susan Galatowitsch Twin Cities Department of Fisheries, Wildlife and Conservation Biology & Minnesota Aquatic Invasive Species Center galat001@umn.edu
Christina Gallup Duluth Department of Earth and Environmental Sciences & Large Lakes Observatory cgallup@d.umn.edu
Ralph Garono Duluth Large Lakes Observatory & Natural Resources Research Institute rjgarono@d.umn.edu
Karen Gran Duluth Department of Earth and Environmental Sciences kgran@d.umn.edu
Timothy Griffis Twin Cities Department of Soil, Water, and Climate tgriffis@umn.edu
Stephanie Guildford Duluth Department of Biology & Large Lakes Observatory sguildfo@d.umn.edu
John Gulliver Twin Cities Department of Civil, Environmental, and Geo-Engineering gulli003@umn.edu
Glenn Guntenspergen Duluth Center for Water and the Environment, Natural Resources Research Institute, & Patuxent Wildlife Research Center gguntens@d.umn.edu
Satish Gupta Twin Cities Department of Soil, Water, and Climate gupta002@umn.edu
Lorin Hatch Twin Cities HDR Engineering, Inc. lorin.hatch@hdrinc.com
Robert Hecky Duluth Large Lakes Observatory rhecky@d.umn.edu
Sara Heger Twin Cities Water Resources Center sheger@umn.edu
Randall Hicks Duluth Department of Biology & Co-Director for the Water Resources Science program rhicks@d.umn.edu
Brian Hill Duluth Department of Biology & US Environmental Protection Agency hill.brian@epa.gov
Kimberly Hill Twin Cities Department of Civil, Environmental, and Geo-Engineering kmhill@umn.edu
Sarah Hobbie Twin Cities Department of Ecology, Evolution and Behavior shobbie@umn.edu
Thomas Hollenhorst Duluth Environmental Protection Agency hollenhorst.tom@epa.gov
Miki Hondzo Twin Cities Department of Civil, Environmental, and Geo-Engineering & St. Anthony Falls Laboratory mhondzo@umn.edu
George Host Duluth Center for Water and the Environment & Natural Resources Research Institute ghost@d.umn.edu
Raymond Hozalski Twin Cities Department of Civil, Environmental, and Geo-Engineering & St. Anthony Falls Laboratory hozal001@umn.edu
Thomas Hrabik Duluth Department of Biology thrabik@umn.edu
Satoshi Ishii Twin Cities Department of Soil, Water, and Climate; BioTechnology Institute ishi0040@umn.edu
Emi Ito Twin Cities Department of Earth Sciences & Limnological Research Center eito@umn.edu
Carrie Jennings Twin Cities Department of Earth Sciences carrie@umn.edu, cjennings@freshwater.org
Lucinda Johnson Duluth Natural Resources Research Institute ljohnson@nrri.umn.edu
Nathan Johnson Duluth Department of Civil Engineering nwjohnso@d.umn.edu
Thomas Johnson Duluth Department of Geological Sciences & Large Lakes Observatory tcj@d.umn.edu
Diana Karwan Twin Cities Department of Forest Resources dlkarwan@umn.edu
Sergei Katsev Duluth Department of Physics & Large Lakes Observatory skatsev@d.umn.edu
Sam Kelly Duluth Department of Physics & Large Lakes Observatory smkelly@d.umn.edu
Joe Knight Twin Cities Department of Forest Resources & Department of Soil, Water, and Climate jknight@umn.edu
Timothy LaPara Twin Cities Department of Civil, Environmental, and Geo-Engineering lapar001@umn.edu
Chris Lenhart Twin Cities Department of Bioproducts and Biosystems Engineering lenh0010@umn.edu
Joe Magner Twin Cities Department of Bioproducts and Biosystems Engineering magne027@umn.edu
Katsumi Matsumoto Twin Cities Department of Earth Sciences katsumi@umn.edu
Melissa Maurer-Jones Duluth Dept of Chemistry and Biochemistry maujones@d.umn.edu
Mary Meyer Twin Cities Department of Horticultural Science meyer023@umn.edu
Elizabeth Minor Duluth Large Lakes Observatory eminor@d.umn.edu
Howard Mooers Duluth Department of Earth and Environmental Sciences hmooers@d.umn.edu
David Mount Duluth U.S. Environmental Protection Agency & Department of Biology mount.dave@epa.gov
David Mulla Twin Cities Department of Soil, Water, And Climate mulla003@umn.edu
Ed Nater Twin Cities Department of Soil, Water, And Climate enater@umn.edu
Kristen Nelson Twin Cities Department of Forest Resources & Department of Fisheries, Wildlife, and Conservation Biology nelso468@umn.edu
Raymond Newman Twin Cities Department of Fisheries, Wildlife and Conservation Biology rnewman@umn.edu
Gene-Hua Crystal Ng Twin Cities Department of Earth Sciences gcng@umn.edu
John Nieber Twin Cities Department of Bioproducts and Biosystems Engineering nieber@umn.edu
Paige Novak Twin Cities Department of Civil, Environmental, and Geo-Engineering novak010@umn.edu
Patrick Nunnally Twin Cities Institute on the Environment & Department of Landscape Architecture pdn@umn.edu
Ted Ozersky Duluth Department of Biology & Large Lakes Observatory tozersky@d.umn.edu
Chris Paola Twin Cities Department of Earth Sciences & National Center for Earth-surface Dynamics cpaola@umn.edu
John Pastor Duluth Department of Biology jpastor@nrri.umn.edu
Lee Penn Twin Cities Department of Chemistry rleepenn@umn.edu
Jim Perry Twin Cities Department of Fisheries, Wildlife and Conservation Biology jperry@umn.edu
Jeffrey Peterson Twin Cities Water Resources Center & Department of Applied Economics jmpeter@umn.edu
Stephen Polasky Twin Cities Department of Applied Economics & Department of Ecology, Evolution and Behavior polasky@umn.edu
Euan Reavie Duluth Center for Water and the Environment & Natural Resources Research Institute ereavie@d.umn.edu
Pamela Rice Twin Cities Department of Soil, Water, And Climate & USDA/ARS Soil and Water Management Unit pamrice@umn.edu
Santiago Romero-Vargas Castrillón Twin Cities Department of Civil, Environmental, and Geo-Engineering sromerov@umn.edu
Carl Rosen Twin Cities Department of Soil, Water, and Climate crosen@umn.edu
Anthony Runkel Twin Cities Minnesota Geological Survey & Department of Earth Sciences runke001@umn.edu
Martin Saar Twin Cities Department of Earth Sciences saar@umn.edu
Michael Sadowsky Twin Cities Department of Soil, Water, and Climate, Department of Microbiology, & BioTechnology Institute sadowsky@umn.edu
Gary Sands Twin Cities Department of Bioproducts and Biosystems Engineering grsand@umn.edu
Ingrid Schneider Twin Cities Department of Forest Resources & UMN Tourism Center ingridss@umn.edu
Kathryn Schreiner Duluth Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry & Large Lakes Observatory kschrein@d.umn.edu
Mark Seeley Twin Cities Department of Soil, Water, and Climate seele002@umn.edu
Cody Sheik Duluth Large Lakes Observatory cssheik@d.umn.edu
Matt Simcik Twin Cities Department of Environmental Health Sciences msimcik@umn.edu
Peter Sorenson Twin Cities Department of Fisheries, Wildlife and Conservation Biology soren003@umn.edu
Kurt Spokas Twin Cities Department of Soil, Water, And Climate & USDA/ARS Soil and Water Management Unit kurt.spokas@ars.usda.gov
Susan Stafford Twin Cities Department of Forest Resources stafford@umn.edu
Byron Steinman Duluth Department of Earth and Environmental Sciences & Large Lakes Observatory bsteinma@d.umn.edu
Steven Sternberg Duluth Department of Chemical Engineering ssternbe@d.umn.edu
Robert Sterner Duluth Large Lakes Observatory stern007@d.umn.edu
Jared Strasburg Duluth Swenson College of Science and Engineering jstrasbu@d.umn.edu
Jeffrey Strock Twin Cities Department of Soil, Water, and Climate & Outreach Center stroc001@umn.edu
Edward Swain Twin Cities Department of Fisheries, Wildlife and Conservation Biology & Minnesota Pollution Control Agency swain006@umn.edu
John Swenson Duluth Department of Earth and Environmental Sciences jswenso2@d.umn.edu
Rebecca Teasley Duluth Department of Civil Engineering rteasley@d.umn.edu
Robert Tipping Twin Cities Minnesota Geological Survey tippi001@umn.edu
Brandy Toner Twin Cities Department of Soil, Water, and Climate toner@umn.edu
Rod Venterea Twin Cities USDA-ARS & Department of Soil, Water, And Climate venterea@umn.edu
Paul Venturelli Twin Cities Department of Fisheries, Wildlife and Conservation Biology pventure@umn.edu
Vaughan Voller Twin Cities Department of Civil, Environmental, and Geo-Engineering volle001@umn.edu
Bruce Vondracek Twin Cities Department of Fisheries, Wildlife and Conservation Biology bvondrac@umn.edu
Andrew Wickert Twin Cities Department of Earth Sciences awickert@umn.edu
Bruce Wilson Twin Cities Department of Bioproducts and Biosystems Engineering wilson@umn.edu
Kyungsoo Yoo Twin Cities Department of Soil, Water, and Climate kyoo@umn.edu