Environmental Chemistry Faculty

Water Resources Science graduate faculty members who have experience and expertise in the Environmental Chemistry area of emphasis are listed below. Students do not necessarily need to know their exact area of emphasis before entering the degree program; however, they should have a firm idea of their research interests. Please select a faculty member’s name to view their specific research interests, courses taught, and other personal information. 

Name Campus Home Department/Organization Email
James Almendinger Twin Cities St. Croix Watershed Research Station dinger@smm.org
Bill Arnold Twin Cities Department of Civil, Environmental, and Geo-Engineering arnol032@umn.edu
Lawrence Baker Twin Cities Department of Bioproducts and Biosystems Engineering baker127@umn.edu
Erik Brown Duluth Department of Earth and Environmental Sciences & Large Lakes Observatory etbrown@d.umn.edu
Paul Capel Twin Cities Department of Civil, Environmental, and Geo-Engineering capel001@umn.edu
Daniel Engstrom Twin Cities St. Croix Watershed Research Station & Science Museum of Minnesota dre@smm.org
Melinda Erickson Twin Cities Department of Bioproducts and Biosystems Engineering & U.S. Geological Survey eric0984@umn.edu
Christina Gallup Duluth Department of Earth and Environmental Sciences & Large Lakes Observatory cgallup@d.umn.edu
Ralph Garono Duluth Large Lakes Observatory & Natural Resources Research Institute rjgarono@d.umn.edu
Lorin Hatch Twin Cities HDR Engineering, Inc. lorin.hatch@hdrinc.com
Robert Hecky Duluth Large Lakes Observatory rhecky@d.umn.edu
Raymond Hozalski Twin Cities Department of Civil, Environmental, and Geo-Engineering & St. Anthony Falls Laboratory hozal001@umn.edu
Emi Ito Twin Cities Department of Earth Sciences & Limnological Research Center eito@umn.edu
Nathan Johnson Duluth Department of Civil Engineering nwjohnso@d.umn.edu
Sergei Katsev Duluth Department of Physics & Large Lakes Observatory skatsev@d.umn.edu
Katsumi Matsumoto Twin Cities Department of Earth Sciences katsumi@umn.edu
Melissa Maurer-Jones Duluth Dept of Chemistry and Biochemistry maujones@d.umn.edu
Elizabeth Minor Duluth Large Lakes Observatory eminor@d.umn.edu
Ed Nater Twin Cities Department of Soil, Water, And Climate enater@umn.edu
Lee Penn Twin Cities Department of Chemistry rleepenn@umn.edu
Pamela Rice Twin Cities Department of Soil, Water, And Climate & USDA/ARS Soil and Water Management Unit pamrice@umn.edu
Kathryn Schreiner Duluth Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry & Large Lakes Observatory kschrein@d.umn.edu
Matt Simcik Twin Cities Department of Environmental Health Sciences msimcik@umn.edu
Kurt Spokas Twin Cities Department of Soil, Water, And Climate & USDA/ARS Soil and Water Management Unit kurt.spokas@ars.usda.gov
Byron Steinman Duluth Department of Earth and Environmental Sciences & Large Lakes Observatory bsteinma@d.umn.edu
Edward Swain Twin Cities Department of Fisheries, Wildlife and Conservation Biology & Minnesota Pollution Control Agency swain006@umn.edu
Brandy Toner Twin Cities Department of Soil, Water, and Climate toner@umn.edu
Rod Venterea Twin Cities USDA-ARS & Department of Soil, Water, And Climate venterea@umn.edu
Kyungsoo Yoo Twin Cities Department of Soil, Water, and Climate kyoo@umn.edu