Aquatic Biology Faculty

Water Resources Science graduate faculty members who have experience and expertise in the Aquatic Biology area of emphasis are listed below. Students do not necessarily need to know their exact area of emphasis before entering the degree program; however, they should have a firm idea of their research interests. Please select a faculty member’s name to view their specific research interests, courses taught, and other personal information. 

Name Campus Home Department/Organization Email
Richard Axler Duluth Natural Resources Research Institute raxler@umn.edu
Sebastian Behrens Twin Cities Department of Civil, Environmental, and Geo-Engineering sbehrens@umn.edu
Valerie Brady Duluth Natural Resources Research Institute & Minnesota Sea Grant vbrady@umn.edu
Andrew Bramburger Duluth Natural Resources Research Institute abrambur@d.umn.edu
Donn Branstrator Duluth Department of Biology dbranstr@d.umn.edu
James Cotner Twin Cities Department of Ecology, Evolution and Behavior cotne002@umn.edu
Mark Edlund Twin Cities St. Croix Watershed Research Station & Science Museum of Minnesota medlund@smm.org
Leonard Ferrington Twin Cities Department of Entomology ferri016@umn.edu
Jacques Finlay Twin Cities Department of Ecology, Evolution and Behavior jfinlay@umn.edu
Susan Galatowitsch Twin Cities Department of Fisheries, Wildlife and Conservation Biology & Minnesota Aquatic Invasive Species Center galat001@umn.edu
Ralph Garono Duluth Large Lakes Observatory & Natural Resources Research Institute rjgarono@d.umn.edu
Glenn Guntenspergen Duluth Center for Water and the Environment, Natural Resources Research Institute, & Patuxent Wildlife Research Center gguntens@d.umn.edu
Lorin Hatch Twin Cities HDR Engineering, Inc. lorin.hatch@hdrinc.com
Randall Hicks Duluth Department of Biology & Co-Director for the Water Resources Science program rhicks@d.umn.edu
Brian Hill Duluth Department of Biology & US Environmental Protection Agency hill.brian@epa.gov
Sarah Hobbie Twin Cities Department of Ecology, Evolution and Behavior shobbie@umn.edu
George Host Duluth Center for Water and the Environment & Natural Resources Research Institute ghost@d.umn.edu
Thomas Hrabik Duluth Department of Biology thrabik@umn.edu
Satoshi Ishii Twin Cities Department of Soil, Water, and Climate; BioTechnology Institute ishi0040@umn.edu
Lucinda Johnson Duluth Natural Resources Research Institute ljohnson@nrri.umn.edu
Timothy LaPara Twin Cities Department of Civil, Environmental, and Geo-Engineering lapar001@umn.edu
Chris Lenhart Twin Cities Department of Bioproducts and Biosystems Engineering lenh0010@umn.edu
David Mount Duluth U.S. Environmental Protection Agency & Department of Biology mount.dave@epa.gov
Raymond Newman Twin Cities Department of Fisheries, Wildlife and Conservation Biology rnewman@umn.edu
Paige Novak Twin Cities Department of Civil, Environmental, and Geo-Engineering novak010@umn.edu
Ted Ozersky Duluth Department of Biology & Large Lakes Observatory tozersky@d.umn.edu
John Pastor Duluth Department of Biology jpastor@nrri.umn.edu
Euan Reavie Duluth Center for Water and the Environment & Natural Resources Research Institute ereavie@d.umn.edu
Michael Sadowsky Twin Cities Department of Soil, Water, and Climate, Department of Microbiology, & BioTechnology Institute sadowsky@umn.edu
Cody Sheik Duluth Large Lakes Observatory cssheik@d.umn.edu
Peter Sorenson Twin Cities Department of Fisheries, Wildlife and Conservation Biology soren003@umn.edu
Robert Sterner Duluth Large Lakes Observatory stern007@d.umn.edu
Paul Venturelli Twin Cities Department of Fisheries, Wildlife and Conservation Biology pventure@umn.edu